The no print encyclopedia blues

I apologize for the length between my posts.  While I was very lucky compared to other victims of Hurricane Sandy, I was without power for over a week.  I hope all my readers are doing well, especially those in the NorthEast whom may have been impacted by this event.

Last year I shared an article with my staff regarding how Encyclopedia Brittanica was going out of print and the reliability of Wikipedia.  Even though the article is going on a year old, the information it discusses is still relevant.

Encyclopedias, Wikipedia and Times Topic Pages: Research Resources and Ideas was written with the intent of helping younger children to better their online searching and evaluation skills; however, the lessons can be easily modified for older students.

This article will be of interest to parents as well.  The lessons discussed in the article can help your child to recognize unsafe Websites when they are searching alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under research, Website Reliability

Leave a Reply

